Reflections on my Second Year as a pastor

A year ago I wrote about five things I had learned in my first year as a pastor. You can read the list here. This year I am not feeling quite as articulate. Many of those first year lessons have become just a part of life. Alyssa and I were initially shocked at the desire of people that we be intimately involved in their lives. We have not been surprised by it this year, but we continue to be humbled and grateful that we get to walk through both the happy and sad times with those we love.

I think more than anything, this year has grown my faith in God. I am no longer surprised to see God do the impossible.  Looking back on a year that was punctuated by lows and highs, I truly believe the hand of God was at work in all of it. I don’t think God was necessarily happy that we had to go through some of the lows, but I think He was happy to guide and support us through it. I am excited that the Lord has given us the opportunity to be a part of the good things He is doing here in Connell. I see a new passion for the mission coming from our congregation, I know this is the work of the Lord, and it comes as an answer to prayer.

This year has also been really exciting as we have begun to reach  out to Spanish speaking people in our community. It is a major blessing to build relationships with people who have never before seen our church as a place that they might find hope. I believe it reflects the Kingdom of Heaven to our community, and enriches the life of our local body.

It’s been a great year, and I’m looking forward to another year of growth and learning. I still have so far to go, but I’ll probably figure it all out in my third year!

One thought on “Reflections on my Second Year as a pastor

Leave a Reply

