My Quote of the Day

Forgotten God by Francis Chan
Forgotten God by Francis Chan

I just finished Francis Chan’s book Forgotten God. It’s about the Holy Spirit. I really enjoyed it, his argument is that Christians ought to be characterized by the power of the Holy Spirit working through them, rather than by their wits, or charisma, or whatever else Christians might be characterized by. My favorite quote from the book is found in the final chapter. It goes like this: I don’t want my life to be explainable without the Holy Spirit. I want people to look at my life and know that I couldn’t be doing this by my own power. I want to live in such a way that I am desperate for Him to come through. That if He doesn’t come through, I am screwed.

He then apologizes for using the saying screwed, which I don’t think he needs to do. Overall it’s a great book. His teaching on the Holy Spirit is really good, he calls Christians to deeper holiness by the power of the Holy Spirit, and he makes some radical claims about the power of the Holy Spirit as it should be extant in the lives of believers. I agree with Chan, and I believe I need to take more risks that allow the Holy Spirit to cover me.

Leave a Reply

