My reflection in Proverbs

I have been reading a chapter in the book of Proverbs a day lately. I have spent quite a bit of time in Proverbs, but today I found something that struck me as new and fresh, perhaps because I read it in the NLT for the first time. I read from Proverbs 27:21: “Fire tests the purity of gold and silver, but a person is tested by being praised.”

The trite: THAT IS SO TRUE!!!, immediately came to mind. The overplayed: “The opposite is true too,” also came to mind. Maybe this is a passage that just can’t be expanded on to much. Maybe the simple truth of the proverb sinks in without exposition, but it seems like there ought to be a sermon (or at least a sermonette) here.

After looking at it for a few more minutes, I guess I have to end it with that. “Fire tests the purity of gold and silver, but a person is tested by being praised.” Thanks for that nugget Solomon.

Leave a Reply

