My Most Recent Must Read ~ Prodigal God

prodigalgod

Be careful, this book will melt your face!

Author of my next must read, The Reason for God, Timothy Keller wrote a stunning exposition on the parable of the prodigal son. Keller looks more broadly at the context of the parable to discuss the message of the parable not only to “younger brother” types who try to get what they want from this world by disobeying God, but also from the perspective of “older brothers,” who try to get what they want by obeying God.

The book is slim, easy to read, and seriously life-changing. It has already found its way into the way I think about my relationship with God, and the reason behind what I do as a Christian. It is also informing much of my preaching, especially as I approach an extended series centered around another must read, What’s so Amazing about Grace.

The only con I can think of is the price of the book. At $20 it’s a little spendy for such a small book, and it’s definitely one that is good enough to own, not just borrow.

Leave a Reply

